Track Chairs

Kieran Conboy, Professor, School of Business & Economics, National University of Ireland Galway, Ireland. Email:

Iris Junglas, Associate Professor, Florida State University, USA. Email:

Joe Nandhakumar, Professor, University of Warwick, Email:


Track Description

Research Methods and Philosophy

The philosophy and methods track seeks contributions that stimulate information systems scholars to critically reflect on our scholarship, paradigms, methods, and fundamental assumptions about the phenomena we study.

We particularly welcome research on philosophy and methods that address the sharing society theme of the conference - how we study the scale, complexity, subtlety and context-laden nature of ecosystems and eco-social systems that enable the sharing society.

The track also seeks studies of information systems research paradigms, ontologies, epistemologies, ethics, etc. For example, how do such paradigms as quantitative positivism, qualitative interpretivism, critical realism and design science advance our knowledge about information systems.

This interest extends to research methods that enable true 21st century Promethean thinking - the newest, cutting edge philosophies and research methodologies, or adaptations, to existing ones, which can truly enable advancements that our technologies are theoretically capable of.

We also welcome studies that critically reflect on our fundamental assumptions about the information systems phenomena we study.

Conceptual or commentary papers are welcome. Empirical papers, not driven by philosophical and methodological reflection, are unsuitable for this track. However, empirical material is always welcome as part of a paper that illustrates the paper’s larger philosophical and methodological examinations.


Track Associate Editors

1. Amir Haj-Bolouri, University West, Gothenburg, Sweden

2. Giovanni Maccani, Maynooth University, Ireland

3. Niamh O’Riordan, University College Dublin, Ireland

4. Name Ibtissam Zaza, Middle Tennessee State University, USA

5. Jonas Sjostrom, Uppsala University, Sweden

6. Sven Rehm, WHU – Otto Beisheim School of Management, Germany

7. Noel Carroll, Lero – Irish Software Research Centre, Ireland

8. Denis Dennehy, National University of Ireland, Ireland